Men who love reading

I have been reading for a week a magnificent book. I keep on reading have only about 60 pages left. I feel sorry that the book ends. I feel sorry that the book and its plot do not continue for about 50-100 more books. I read with such a great pleasure, as if I come into a sevrage if I do not find faster what the characters do and what other more incredible situations happen. It’s a great book both physically and figuratively. It has over 800 pages. Its author is a rarity. He wrote extensively much and well without boring the reader at all. On the contrary. Unfortunately, the writer is now beyond the curtain of stars. 5 years have passed since he left us. But shortly before leaving our world he handed over to his a trilogy of more than 2000 pages. A trilogy that made worldwide furor. Over 13 million books sold. All of the Romanian writers would not succeed to reach this amount even in a century. And I say it with regret. We have writers, but we do not have best-sellers. Newspapers are full of ordered favorable chronicles or written by friends of the writers, but Romanian writers books lie unsold in libraries like an expired merchandise. These are our writers, it is true, with few young exceptions. High hosannas, microscopic book sales. These are the Romanian literature … very small waves. I’d better come back to the writer who captivated me. He is Swedish, and for over 20 years I have Sweden in the drawer of my soul with my favorite countries, along with Spain, France, Australia, Argentina and USA. Sweden is clean, Sweden is happiness, Sweden is Roxette, Sweden is ABBA, Sweden is Stockholm and the Gamla Stan (old town), Sweden is ineffable charm, Sweden is Ibrahimovic, Sweden is … Stieg Larsson. Yes, Stieg Larsson is writer who captivated me this year in the highest degree and without right of appeal. The Millennium trilogy is the most exciting series I’ve have ever read. The trilogy is amazing and is a loss for literature that Stieg Larsson will not be able to write again. Stieg Larsson develops a brilliant cop plot, with extremely powerful, complex and original characters. And speaking of that, Lisbeth Salander is one of the most spectacular female characters of universal literature. Brilliant, funny, hacker, sexy, with earrings in the nose and ears, carelessly dressed, abused, tortured, raped, harassed, independent, fighter, Phoenix bird embodied in a woman, rebellious, incredibly strong, Lisbeth Salander clearly captivates you and you wish for her to be real, to talk to her, to know this so complex, complicated and protean human miracle. The last book in the trilogy – „The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest” – worths all the superlatives. It would be a commonplace if I say that this last book is captivating. It’s much more than that. „The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest” is an overdose of adrenaline, the dramatic fabric is impressive and has an ineffable epic charm. I would have wanted to be at least a tenth of the journalist Mikael Blomqvist – who fights (and does it successful) even with the Swedish secret police Sapo to prove the innocence of Lisbeth Salander and the fact she had been subject to a long series of abuses. Stieg Larsson was a writer extremely well-documented, and this clearly can be seen in his book. A lot of details which are perfectly chained, with a breathtaking tram with former spies, with police officers supporting the good and other officers who support evil, with pedophile psychologists, old criminal agents, with sparkling dialogues. Stieg Larsson’s books  beat any policier books read before. And I read until now about 70-80 policier books. I’ve always had a cult of the books and this cult has never left me.  Editura Trei (Trei Publishing House) really hit the jackpot with these translations. To paraphrase the title of first book in the Millenium trilogy, I am among those „men who love reading”. And I am part in the vast army of the fans of Stieg Larsson. Let’s come back to the trilogy. The first two books have already been screened and enjoyed great success in Europe, and the film after the third book will appear at the end of this month. I saw about a 15 minute summary of the first movie and I can say that the actors were chosen very well, as I imagined while reading and viewing them in my mind. Michael Nyqvist is impeccable in the role of journalist Mikael Blomqvist, I think  Larsson himself could not have found a more suitable actor. The same can be said about the lovely actress Noomi Rapace, whose transformation into the so complicated and captivating Lisbeth Salander is perfect. I look forward to see the trilogy in the Romanian cinemas. But what I look forward even more is to go as soon as possible in Stockholm, to roam the city for a week at least on the traces of Mikael Blomqvist. And what if I meet Lisbeth Salander? I would wish so …

Lasă un răspuns

